Bookmark and Share

A Free Embedded Vision Webcast: Register Now, It's Coming Up Fast!

Jeff Bier, founder of the Embedded Vision Alliance and co-founder and President of BDTI, will be presenting a webcast (developed in partnership with Vision Systems Design Magazine) on Tuesday, June 5. Here's a short description:

What You'll Learn:

  • What market and technology forces are fueling embedded vision’s rapid transition from niche to ubiquity
  • How to work with the challenges inherent in this shift
  • What opportunities are emerging--for systems designers, components suppliers, and end users
  • The main types of processors used in embedded vision, and their strengths and weaknesses

Here's more, from the session overview page:

Thanks to the emergence of powerful, low-cost sensors and processors, embedded vision capabilities once reserved for resource-rich niche applications are now showing up in everyday applications. Microsoft's Kinect game controller and automotive safety systems are two examples.

This accelerating incorporation of “visual intelligence” into embedded systems is creating many opportunities and challenges. For example, providers of embedded vision technology for established applications like factory automation will face new competition as lower-cost options developed for other markets find their way into these traditional domains. Conversely, adopting lower-cost components will allow established embedded vision system vendors to field lower-cost solutions, and enter markets previously out of reach.

This presentation will explore developments and trends in embedded processors, as well as tools that are enabling the rapid growth of embedded vision. In particular, it will discuss the many classes of processors facilitating embedded vision, including CPUs, DSPs, FPGAs, GPUs and ASSPs, and their key strengths and weaknesses.

The live webcast is free of charge, will take place on June 5 at noon EDT (11:00 AM CDT, 10:00 AM MDT, 09:00 AM PDT, 4:00 PM GMT), and will take approximately 1 hour.

Click here to register!