Bookmark and Share

General Discussion

Stereo Disparity Processor
4 replies [Last post]
oznelig
Level 1: Prestidigitator

Hi,

My background is in image compressin where I have previously designed JPEG, MPEG-4 and H.264 processors in hardware (HDL coding for ASIC and FPGAs). I have now started to look at computer vision.

Although this might look like an hardware question, it really belongs here (see below). Besides, the algorithm in question can probably be very efficiently implemented on a processor with SSE instructions or similar.

Basically, I have come up with a stere disparity matching algorithm that accepts as input a rectified stereo pair. The quality of the algorithm is similar to block SAD based. For example, the algorithm correctly calculates over 80% of the disparities in the two well known stereo pairs "Teddy" and "Cones".
See :
http://vision.middlebury.edu/stereo/data/scenes2003/

To prove to myself how simple the algorithm really was, I have coded a core in VHDL and targeted it to Xilinx Artix-7 family. The demo core consists in two video raster inputs (from left and right rectified images) and buffers and 8 stereo disparity matching units. Each unit can check one disparity per clock cycle. In Artix-7 speedgrade 3, the core reaches 250 MHz and, therfore, 2 billion disparities/sec (there are basically no dead cycles). The inpu should be relatively immune to affine changes in illumination.

The footprint of the core is only 667 slices + 10 RAMB36 + 2 DSP48

this is only ~13% of the area of the smallest Artix-7 part. From what I can see in the available literature, this is 6-8x smaller than similarly performing cores. With 2 billion disparities per second it can do better than, for example, 640x480 @ 60 fps and 100 max disparity. The core is not ready for shipping as it needs documentation and more testing. It also needs a small addition consisting of a median filter.