Bookmark and Share

General Discussion

Machine Vision Too Expensive
3 replies [Last post]
Russel
Russel's picture
Level 1: Prestidigitator

Over the years that I have learned of machine vision, and understood its application, I have made many inquiries on their costs but I have unexpectedly found them to be too expensive - and far much out of reach. Yes, they provide such important solutions, but would you, for example, willfully buy a device costing almost half the cost of your vehicle to install in the vehicle?
With me is a set of improvements and features I would like to be added to an ADAS but I am not a software developer. The whole system, if well implemented, will be able to meet the needs of a huge market - in many nations, which are for sure waiting for its arrival, and the additional features I'd like to add can be added to the existing ADAS.
China is well known for availing devices in Africa that are within the reach of the multitude, and thus there is such a large market for them, that's why they've become such strong trade partner with many African nations; even though I haven't seen them putting much interest in machine vision.
Is there an EmbeddedVision member who could be willing to work with me to develop the system, my main interest being to provide a solution to this needy market? I don't intend to develop it as a stand-alone ADAS, but to use it together with other devices.
Thank you.
John Russel Ouko, a fifth year student at Egerton University taking BSc. Instrumentation and Control Engineering.

rjohnson.gh
rjohnson.gh's picture

Another thing to consider when targeting low cost embedded systems is the algorithm complexity, optimization, and performance. Can you target a "boxed" or "generic" algorithm or do you need an algorithm optimized/tailored to a lower cost processor?